ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Trophy Tour 2023 launches into space

Kathmandu: The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Trophy Tour 2023 has been launched on the grandest scale.

The 120,000 feat was achieved with the World Cup Trophy attached to a bespoke stratospheric balloon.

The stunning shots of the famous silverware sitting on the edge of the Earth’s atmosphere were captured with 4K cameras.

The balloon crossed more than 99.5% of the Earth’s atmosphere with the temperature of -65°C at the peak altitude.

The space flight sets the stage for the biggest ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Trophy Tour ever, counting down to the World Cup being played across India in October and November.

Through a varied programme of activations, the Trophy Tour aims to give one million fans the chance to connect with the prized silverware ahead of the highly anticipated global event, and will visit locations in 18 countries across five continents.

Embarking on its first full-scale global tour since 2019, the Trophy Tour will recreate the sense of occasion and carnival-like atmosphere synonymous with Cricket World Cups through a series of large-scale activations at some of the world’s most iconic destinations.

In addition to visiting over 20 cities in India and other participating countries, the Trophy will also tour a number of emerging nations such as Bahrain, Kuwait, Malaysia, Papua New Guinea, Nigeria, Uganda, France, Italy and the United States, enabling new and existing fans to get a glimpse of world cricket’s ultimate prize.

ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Trophy Tour Schedule

27 June – 14 July: India

15 – 16 July: New Zealand

17 – 18 July: Australia

19 – 21 July: Papua New Guinea

22 – 24 July: India

25 – 27 July: USA

28 – 30 July: West Indies

31 July – 4 August: Pakistan

5 – 6 August: Sri Lanka

7 – 9 August: Bangladesh

10 – 11 August: Kuwait

12 – 13 August: Bahrain

14 – 15 August: India

16 – 18 August: Italy

19 – 20 August: France

21 – 24 August: England

25 – 26 August: Malaysia

27 – 28 August: Uganda

29 – 30 August: Nigeria

31 August – 3 September: South Africa

From 4 September: India