Task Force formed under coordination of Madhav Nepal to divide leaders’ work

Madhav Kumar Nepal smiles after officially being nominated for Nepal's Prime Minister at the Parliament House in Kathmandu May 23, 2009. Photo Courtesy: Reuters

Kathmandu: The standing committee meeting of the CPN-Prachanda-Madhav group has formed a task force to divide the responsibilities of the leaders.

The Prachanda-Madhav group has formed a task force under the coordination of Chairman Madhav Kumar Nepal.

Yogesh Bhattarai, a member of the standing committee, said that the task force will formulate criteria for determining the responsibilities of the leaders. “This task force recommends who will be given responsibility within four or five days,” said Bhattarai.

The task force includes Surendra Pandey, Janardan Sharma, Ghanshyam Bhusal, Veduram Bhusal, Giriraj Mani Pokhrel, Pampha Bhusal, Gokarna Bishta, Barshaman Pun, Matrika Yadav and Shakti Basnet. This task force will make recommendations to fill the vacancies in the party and people’s organization, including manipulating responsibilities.

However, the CPN-Oli has decided not to expel those belonging to the group immediately. The Oli faction has also taken away important responsibilities by retaining those belonging to the Prachanda-Madhav faction and has decided to expand the central committee of the party. The Prachanda-Madhav group is going to take a similar policy.

Yogesh Bhattarai has been given the responsibility to coordinate the media sector while Lilamani Pokhrel, Raghuji Pant and others have been given the responsibility to coordinate with the civil society.

Today’s meeting has set the agendas to be discussed in the standing committee meeting. Next, the meeting will be held tomorrow at one o’clock in the afternoon. The meeting was chaired by Madhav Nepal in Paris Danda, Kathmandu.