Province 1 bags Prime Minister’s Cup Women’s National Cricket title

Kathmandu: Province 1 lifted the title of the Prime Minister’s Cup Women’s National Cricket Tournament.

Province 1 clinched the title for the first time by defeating Armed Police Force (APF) by six runs in the final match held on Sunday.

Following the target of 106 runs given by province 1, APF lost 7 wickets in the allotted 20 overs and managed to score only 99 runs. Mamata Chaudhary top-scored for APF with 34 runs while Karuna Bhandari remained unbeaten on 26 runs. Similarly, the APF was disappointed as the opener batter contributed 14 runs while other players could not contribute significantly.

Captain Rubina Chhetri and Alisha Khadiya took 2-2 wickets each while Sangita Rai took 1 wicket.

Earlier, after winning the toss at Deukhuri Cricket Ground, province 1 had scored 105 runs for the loss of 4 wickets in 20 overs.

Opener Apsari Begum and captain Rubina Chhetri gave a great start. Both had an opening partnership of 58 runs. Rubina, who was dismissed for the first wicket in 12.4 overs, faced 32 balls and contributed 18 runs.

After Rubina was out, Apsari was also out in the last ball of the same over. Apsari, who likes to bat in an aggressive style, faced 45 balls and contributed 34 runs with 5 fours.

Kajal Shrestha remained unbeaten on 29 runs. Facing 26 balls, she hit a four. Similarly, Roma Thapa scored 3 runs and Nisha Shah scored 5 runs while Sangita Rai remained unbeaten on 2 runs.

Captain Sita Rana Magar took 3 wickets for APF. Karuna Bhandari took 1 wicket.

While province 1 received Rs 500,000 in cash along with the title, the runner-up APF received Rs 300,000.