Sandeep, not selected for Lanka Premier League

Kathmandu: Sri Lanka’s Sri Lanka Premier League (LPL) T20 cricket tournament has been drafted on Monday night to select players. However, Nepal’s young leg-spinner Sandeep Lamichhane has failed to be selected in the draft of the LPL, which will be a five-team competition in the first season of 2020.
Even though his name was included in the list, no team showed interest in including Sandeep in the 20-round draft. Colombo Kings, Dambulla Hawks, Gale Gladiators, Jaffna Stallions and Candy Tuskers will compete in the LPL from November 21. There will be 23 games in the 15-day competition.
Players including Angelo Mathews, Andre Russell, Fap du Plessis and Dinesh Chandimal have joined Colombo through Monday’s draft. Similarly, Dambulla has players including David Miller, Carlos Braithwaite, Paul Sterling and Upul Tharanga.
Shahid Afridi, Lasid Malinga and Colin Igram have joined the team while players including Thisara Perera, David Malan and Shoaib Malik have joined Jaffna. Kushal Perera, Chris Gayle, Liam Plunkett and Wahem Riaz have joined Candy.