Nepal wins tri-nation T20 series title

Kathmandu: Nepal has won the tri-nation International T20 Cricket Series title. Nepal defeated Papua New Guinea (PNG) by 50 runs to win the title.

Following the target of 169 runs given by Nepal, PNG were all out for 118 runs in 16 overs.

Nepal’s Dipendra Singh Airy took four wickets for the bowlers. Dipendra, who bowled four overs, took four wickets for 18 runs. Similarly, Karan KC took three wickets and Sandeep Lamichhane two.

Nepal, who had earlier batted first after losing the toss at the Tribhuvan University Cricket Ground, lost six wickets in the allotted 20 overs and scored 168 runs.

Dipendra Singh Airy scored the most not out 54 runs for Nepal. Similarly, Karan KC scored 33 not out off 12 balls. Similarly, Ashif Khesh scored 29 runs and Kushal Bhurtel scored 25 runs.

Nepal had defeated PNG in both the matches in the group stage. Nepal reached the final with four wins in four games.

PNG, on the other hand, reached the final by beating Malaysia on the basis of net run rate with two points.