Laying of foundation stone of 396 local level hospital buildings in one day

Minister for Federal Affairs and General Administration Hridayesh Tripathi, Chief of Nagarjuna Municipality Mohan Basnet and others at the foundation stone laying ceremony of the 15-bed Ramkot Basic Hospital being constructed at Batasepakha in Nagarjuna Municipality-7 with the objective of ensuring access to quality basic health services. Photo Courtesy: Rastriya Samachar Samiti

Kathmandu: The government has laid the foundation stone of a hospital building today for the construction of 396 local level basic hospitals in the country.

The government has laid the foundation stone of 396 hospital buildings today with the objective of providing basic health services to the local level.

The Ministry of Health and Population is planning to build five to 15-bed hospitals in 396 municipalities in the first phase.

Finance Minister Bishnu Prasad Poudel has also laid the foundation stone of the Bajrabarahi Chapagaun Hospital in Godavari Municipality of Lalitpur.

Addressing a program organized to lay the foundation stone of the building, Finance Minister Poudel said that the foundation stone of 396 local level 5-bed, 10-bed and 15-bed municipal level basic hospitals has been laid at the local level.

Similarly, 50/50 beds of communicable disease hospitals are being constructed simultaneously in seven states, said Finance Minister Poudel.

Guests present at the groundbreaking ceremony of a 15-bed hospital under construction in Bhimad Municipality-6 of Tanahu on Monday. Photo: Rasas
Finance Minister Poudel also said that a budget of Rs. 57.95 billion has been secured for 396 basic hospitals being constructed at the municipal level.

Similarly, a budget of Rs. 80 million per hospital has been ensured for the construction of communicable disease hospitals in all the seven states, said Finance Minister Poudel.

According to the Ministry of Health and Population, the foundation stone has been laid for the construction of hospitals in 86 municipalities in Province 1, 53 municipalities in Province 2, 51 municipalities in Bagmati, 53 municipalities in Gandaki, 57 municipalities in Lumbini, 42 municipalities in Karnali and 54 municipalities in Far-Western.