Govt recognizes major contributors to tax revenue

Kathmandu: The government has honored the outstanding taxpayers. Finance Minister Dr Prakash Sharan Mahat today honored the ‘best taxpayers’ from various sectors at the closing ceremony of the Tax Week organized on the occasion of the National Tax Day, 2080.

The Nepal Telecommunications Company (Nepal Telecom) has been honored for being the biggest taxpayer in the fiscal year, 2078/79 BS. Similarly, other companies honored on the occasion include Dabur Nepal, Asian Paints, OBC Foods and Feeds Company, Chhimek Microfinance Financial Institution and Global IME Bank.

Similarly, other companies are Life Insurance Company Nepal, Nobel Medical College, Manakamana Darshan Pvt Ltd and Bhatbhateni Super Market. The companies that paid taxes ranging from Rs 500 million to Rs 1 billion are Nepal Stock Exchange and Bhotekoshi Hydropower Company.

The government honored IME Limited, and Bijaya Kumar Sah. Surya Nepal Pvt Ltd was also honored for paying the highest income tax, value added tax, excise duty and paying VAT of five years on time.

The government will provide a special type of identity card for a period of one year for the biggest taxpayers, it has been said. The process of distributing identity cards to the big taxpayers has started from today, said Finance Secretary Dr Krishna Hari Pushkar.

Similarly, on the occasion, the minister honored the employees who provided excellent services in the tax administration.

News Source: Rashtriya Samachar Samiti