CPN-UML finalizes diverse slate of 19 candidates for National Assembly Elections


The CPN-UML has concluded the selection of 19 candidates for the upcoming National Assembly elections scheduled for January 25. The announcement came from UML General Secretary Shankar Pokharel following a Secretariat meeting on Sunday, where the finalized names were disclosed. Emphasizing a commitment to diverse representation, Pokharel noted a strategic focus on specific regions and communities.

Among the nominated candidates are Rukmini Koirala (Sunsari) representing women from the Koshi Province and Parshuram Adhikari (Bhojpur) in another category. UML has also designated Usha Devi Tharuni (Parsa) for women in the Madhes Province and Dr. Arjun Kumar Singh Rajput (Mahottari) for the ‘others’ category.

In the Bagmati Province, Rochkumari Chaulagai (Dolakha) and Trilochan Nirmal Poudel (Chitwan) will represent women, while Bibek Devkota (Kathmandu) will represent disabled minorities. Dhruba Raj Bishwakarma (Dhading) has been confirmed as the Dalit representative.

Gandaki Province’s candidates include Yamanda Devkota (Gorkha) for women, Chakra Bahadur Parajuli (Syangja) for the ‘others’ category, and Hemandra Sherchan (Mustang) as the nominee for disabled minorities. In Lumbini Province, Tulsa Kumari KC (Dang) will represent women, and Jhapendra Bahadur Gharti Chhetri (Palpa) for the ‘others’ category.

Nominees from Karnali Province include Bimala Kumari Shahi (Humla) for women, Dilli Prasad Bhatta (Mugu) for the ‘others’ category, and Hikmat BK (Dailekh) as the Dalit representative. Sudurpaschim Province will see Sabitra Devi Ghimire (Kailali) representing women, Iswari Prasad Kharel (Kanchanpur) for the ‘others’ category, and Ram Chandra Joshi (Kailali) as the nominee for disabled minorities.