Trailblazers win Women’s T20 challenge title

Kathmandu: Trailblazers have won the title of Women’s T20 Challenge.
With the help of captain Mriti Mandhana’s half-century and Salma Khatun’s three wickets, Trailblazers defeated defending champions Supernova by 16 runs to win the title for the first time.

Following the Braille Blazers’ 119-run target in the final in Sharjah, UAE, the supernova lost seven wickets in the allotted 10 overs to make it 102. Captain Harmanpreet Kaur top scored for Supernova with 30 runs. For Trailblazers, Salma Khatun took 3 wickets for 18 runs in 4 overs. Similarly, Dipti Sharma took 2 wickets for 9 runs in 2 overs.

Earlier, after losing the toss, Trailblazers lost 8 wickets in 20 overs and scored 118 runs. Trailblazers captain Mandhana top-scored with 68 off 49 balls with five fours and three sixes. Similarly, Drendra Dutton scored 20 runs and Richa Dhosh scored 10 runs. For Supernova, Punav Yadav bowled brilliantly and took 5 wickets alone. She had spent only 16 in 4 overs.

In the group stage of the three-team league, Supernova defeated Trailblazers by 2 runs to reach the final. But in the final, Trailblazers took revenge and won the title for the first time.

Having won the title twice in a row, the desire to score a hat-trick in the title of supernova could not be fulfilled. Supernova defeated Trailblazers in the final of the first season.