Prime Minister Dahal emphasizes need for innovative agricultural systems

Kathmandu: Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal has pointed out the need for promoting innovation-oriented agricultural systems for the country’s prosperity.

Addressing a program titled ‘Present Status and the Future of Sustainable Development’ held at the Prime Minister’s Office in Singha Durbar today, he opined that the country’s prosperity is not possible with the traditional style of agricultural system.

PM Dahal stressed the need for adopting a modern agriculture system, stating that employment creation, production growth and import substitution is possible through the development of the agriculture sector.

He reiterated that agriculture alone is the main basis for sustainable development of Nepal. Stating that the present government is wholeheartedly on the prosperity journey making agriculture as the main foundation, the Prime Minister said the role of agriculture is reflected in the 16th Five-year Plan. He added that the government has kept agriculture in high priority as he was also a student of agriculture.

Noting that the initiative of the Government of India was exemplary for the green revolution, PM Dahal said Nepal could learn from India’s achievements. He further added that the government is ready to adopt topics that are appropriate for Nepal.

On the occasion, general-secretary of Patanjali Yogpeeth, Acharya Balakrishna, made a presentation on the role of agriculture for sustainable development, highlighting the works that can be carried out in the agriculture sector. He presented an idea on how works based on agriculture could be done for sustainable development.

In attendance at the program were Deputy Prime Minister and Home Minister Narayan Kaji Shrestha, Minister for Communications and Information Technology Rekha Sharma, Minister for Agriculture and Livestock Development Dr Beduram Bhusal, Minister for Energy, Water Resources and Irrigation, Shakti Bahadur Basnet, members of the Council of Ministers, the chief secretary and secretaries of different ministries, among other government officials.

News Source: Rashtriya Samachar Samiti