PM Deuba elected as Nepali Congress President

Kathmandu: Nepali Congress President Sher Bahadur Deuba has been again elected for the president post for the new tenure.

Deuba defeated Shekhar Koirala by 907 votes in the second round of voting on Tuesday and has been elected president for a second term.

In the second round of voting, 4,623 votes were cast and a majority of 2,311 votes was needed to be elected ass president. Deuba got 2,733 votes while his nearest rival Koirala got 1,855 votes.

Earlier, in the first round of voting on Monday, Deuba had garnered the most votes among the five presidential candidates. But the majority did not reach.

Out of a total of 4,743 delegates, 4,679 had cast their votes in the first phase.

On which, Deuba got 2,258 while Shekhar got 1,702. Prakash Man Singh got 371 votes while Bimalendra Nidhi got 250 votes and Kalyan Gurung got 22 votes.