Nepal remains as runner-up in SAAF Championship

File Photo

Kathmandu: Nepal, which played the final of the SAAF Championship for the first time, has lost to India. India defeated Nepal 3-0 to win the title.

Nepal has limited as runners-up.

The first half of the final ended in a draw on Saturday in Male, the capital of the Maldives. But early in the second half, India scored two goals in a row. Sunil Chhetri scored in the 49th minute of the match while Suresh Singh Wangjem doubled India’s lead.

This is the eighth time that India has become a SAAF champion.