Nepal loses to South Africa by 1 run in T20 World Cup

Nepal lost to South Africa by 1 run in the match played under ICC T20 World Cup 2024.

In the match held at Arnos Vale cricket Stadium in Kingstown, West Indies, Nepali bowlers restricted South African batsmen to just 115 runs in 20 runs. Nepal won the toss and invited the opponent to bat first.

In reply, Nepal fell short of just one run, scoring 114 runs in 20 overs.

In restricting the opponents to a partly total, Kushal Bhurtel took 4 wickets giving away just 19 runs in his quota of 4 overs. Likewise, Dipendra Singh Airee took 3 wickets, giving away 21 runs. Joining the team for the first time in the world cup, Sandeep Lamichhane failed to take a wicket but gave only 18 runs in 4 overs.

For South Africa, only opener Reeza Hendricks was able to score some runs, scoring 43 runs in 49 balls, before being brilliantly caught and bowled by Diprendra Singh Airee. Tristan Stubbs scored 27 runs in 18 balls while other batsmen failed to make any significant impact.

Aasif Sheikh top scored for Nepal with 42 runs in 49 balls followed by Anil Shah who scored 27 runs in 24 balls. Nepal lost opener Kushal Bhurtel who scored 13 runs in 21 balls, including a four and a six. Captain Rohit Paudel was out duck facing 2 balls. Both fell at the same over bowled by Tabraiz Shamsi.

For the bowling side, Tabraiz Shamsi took 4 wickets in 4 overs giving away only 19 runs, to also win the player of the match award. Anrich Nortje and Aiden Markram took 1 wicket each.

Nepal has just one point after one loss and a draw. Nepal was defeated by the Netherlands in the first match and the second match against Sri Lanka was washed out.

Nepal’s playing 11 consists of Kushal Bhurtel, Ashif Sekh, Anil Sah, Rohit Paudel (captain), Kushal Malla, Dipendra Singh Airey, Sompal Kami, Gulshan Jha, Karan KC, Sandeep Lamichhane and Abhinash Bohra.

Nepal will now play its final match of the T20 World Cup 2024 against Bangladesh on June 17.

Source: Rashtriya Samachar Samiti