Nepal clinches thrilling victory over West Indies ‘A’ in T20 series finale

Kathmandu: In a gripping finale to the T20 series between Nepal and West Indies ‘A’, Nepal secured a thrilling victory over the visiting team at the TU Cricket Ground. Despite the triumph, Nepal ultimately lost the series, with West Indies ‘A’ clinching the title with a 3-2 scoreline in the five-match series.

Nepal’s victory came in spectacular fashion as they chased down West Indies ‘A’s target of 173 runs with six wickets to spare, showcasing their resilience and determination. The match, held on Saturday, witnessed an enthralling display of cricketing prowess from both sides.

Opener Asif Sheikh played a blistering innings, smashing 51 runs off just 35 deliveries, embellished with 2 fours and an impressive 5 sixes. His explosive batting set the tone for Nepal’s chase. Anil Shah also made a significant contribution, notching up a vital half-century with 58 runs off 45 balls, which included 4 fours and 4 sixes. Kushal Malla played a crucial role in steering Nepal to victory with an unbeaten 37 runs off 18 balls.

In the bowling department, Sompal Kami and Sagar Dhakal starred for Nepal, each claiming three wickets to restrict West Indies ‘A’. Kami’s spell was particularly economical, conceding just 16 runs while Dhakal proved equally effective, conceding only 17 runs in his two overs.

Earlier in the match, West Indies ‘A’, opting to bat first after winning the toss, posted a challenging total of 172 runs for the loss of 7 wickets in their allotted 20 overs. Alick Athanaze top-scored for the visitors with an unbeaten 42 runs, supported by contributions from Captain Roston Chase, Johnson Charles, and Matthew Forde.

Despite the series loss, Nepal’s resounding victory in the final match underscores their potential and growing prowess in international cricket, providing fans with a memorable and thrilling contest at the TU Cricket Ground.