Mandekaji and Gaurika Player of the Year

Kathmandu: Karate player Mandekaji Shrestha and swimmer Gaurika Singh have been declared the best player of the year.

In the Pulsar Sports Award 2021 organized by Nepal Sports Journalists Forum, Mande was declared the best player in the men’s category and Gaurika in the women’s category.

Towards golf, Subash Tamang has been declared the best young player and Navin Kumar the best instructor of the year in Taekwondo.

While volleyball won two awards, Aruna Shahi, the captain of the women’s national volleyball team, won the popular player award. Similarly, the women’s volleyball team won the Team of the Year award. Ayesha Shakya of Taekwondo and Santoshi Shrestha of Athletics were honored with the Special Award. Table tennis players Geeta Chhetri and Cesarean Shah were honored with Lifetime Achievement Award.

Similarly, Digam Singh Chemjong won the Mercury Award. Minister for Youth and Sports Dawa Tamang Lama, Member Secretary of National Sports Council Rakhep Ramesh Kumar Silwal, President of Federation of Nepali Chambers of Commerce and Industry Shekhar Golchha and others distributed the awards at the semi-virtual awards held at Karate Hall, Satdobato, Lalitpur.

Similarly, singers Navin K Bhattarai and Milan Newa gave musical performances while Suman Karki performed comedy.