Kathmandu Mayors’ Cup cricket title to Nepal Police

Kathmandu: Nepal Police Club has won the title of Kathmandu Mayors’ Cup Cricket Tournament by defeating departmental rival Armed Police Force (APF).

After young fast bowlers Gulshan Jha and Sagar Dhaka took 4-4 wickets, APF was all out for 105 runs. In reply, Police completed the target by losing 2 wickets in 24.1 overs. Opener Sunil Dhamala scored a half century for the Police. Dipendra Singh Airy struck six off Abhinash Bohara in the first ball of the 25th over to seal the victory.

Police won the first season of the Mayors’s Cup organized by the Nepal Cricket Association with the financial support of the Kathmandu Metropolitan City. The runner-up APF got Rs 300,000. Police have even avenged the defeat in the league stage by winning the final.

Police have won the 50-over cricket title for the first time since winning the third season of the Prime Minister’s Cup last year. APF, on the other hand, had to settle for runner-up in two consecutive ODIs. APF lost to Tribhuvan Army Club in the final of the Prime Minister’s Cup in January.

Sunil Dhamala and Kushal Bhurtel shared 33 runs for the police following the same target given by APF. Kushal was bowled by Bhuvan Karki in the 11th over. Kushal added 15 runs.

Similarly, Sunil and Anil Shah shared 35 runs for the second wicket. Anil was out for 15 runs. Opener Sunil remained unbeaten on 59 runs. He hit 7 fours and 2 sixes in 82 balls.

Bhuvan Karki and Abhinash Bohara took 1-1 wickets for APF.