Govt to make e-passport from December 14

Kathmandu: The distribution of Machine Readable Passport (MRP) from the Passport Department will be stopped from December 14.

The government is making e-passport mandatory. The department plans to distribute e-passports only to the service recipients from the new building in Tripureshwor from December 14.

Now, only e-passport is planned to be distributed from the head office of the department.

Electronic passports (e-passports) will be distributed from all the three district administration offices of Kathmandu Valley from next year. The district administration offices of Kathmandu, Bhaktapur and Lalitpur in the Kathmandu Valley are also distributing e-passports on a daily basis.

The e-passport holder will have to fill in the national identity card or its verified number. Even if the national identity card is not received immediately from the district administration offices, the identity card number obtained after filling the application in the district administration office has been made mandatory in the passport.

A fee of Rs 5,000 will be charged for making a 34-page passport from the District Administration Office. However, a fee of Rs 10,000 has been fixed for making 66 pages. The passport department has fixed a fee of Rs 12,000 for a 34-page passport and Rs 20,000 for a 66-page passport.