E-passport distribution begins

First e-passport to culture expert Satya Mohan Joshi

Kathmandu: The government has issued the first e-passport (electronic passport) to Satya Mohan Joshi. Minister for Foreign Affairs Dr. Narayan Khadka handed over the e-passport to Shatabdipurush Joshi at a function organized at the Passport Department in Tripureshwor on Wednesday.

Dornath Aryal, director-general of the passport department, said that the government has made arrangements for online booking since Wednesday to make e-passports introduced to replace machine-readable passports (MRPs).

He also said that e-passports will be distributed from the Tripureshwar-based passport department in a few days. Director-General Aryal said that the distribution of machine-readable passports will be continued even after the distribution of e-passports.

He said that only e-passports will be distributed by solving the technical problems seen in the system by 10/12 December. National identity card number has been made mandatory for the online booking of e-passport.