China Southern to halt transit flights to China for 21 countries including Nepal

Photo Courtesy: Airbus

Kathmandu: China Southern has suspended flights from third countries to 21 countries, including Nepal. The company has stated that it has stopped flights to third countries through transit to those countries.
The company has suspended flights with effect from Tuesday. The announcement comes at a time when China’s Civil Aviation Authority has suspended flights of some companies.
According to the Chinese state media Global Times, the second wave of corona virus, which has been on the rise in Europe recently, has raised the risk of the virus entering China.
That is why transit flights to China have been banned. Nepal, India and Bangladesh are among the SAARC countries that have been banned. The company has also suspended transit flights to China from 10 countries, including Ghana, Ethiopia, and the Philippines and Russia.
Earlier, ships from Dhaka, Bangladesh, Istanbul, Turkey and Moscow, Russia were found to be infected with the corona virus. Even China Southern had faced repeated bans from regulators after the ship was found to be infected with corona.
At present, PCR report of corona test negative is mandatory in China. An antibody test report is also mandatory.