22 checkpoints between Nepal and India to remain close

Kathmandu: Twenty-two checkpoints between Nepal and India has been decided to remain closed.

A meeting of the Covid-19 Crisis Management Center (CCMC) held at Singha Durbar on Friday decided to close 22 of the 35 checkpoints between Nepal and India and allow access only through 13 checkpoints.

Only Kakadvitta, Jogbani, Pashupatinagar, Birtamod, Gaur, Birgunj, Belahiya, Krishnanagar, Jamunah, Jhulaghat, Kolughat, Gauriphanta and Gaddachauki checkpoints will remain open. Holding centers will be set up at the open ports.

The meeting has decided to strictly enforce the prohibitory order and bring government offices into operation only with the presence of one-fourth of the employees. The meeting has recommended the federal ministers to coordinate with the states.

The industries have also decided to keep the workers in the industrial premises and stop the public works. The meeting also decided to start preparations for the operation of private hospitals as co-operative hospitals, said a member.