20 players selected in closed training for tri-series

Kathmandu: Nepal Cricket Association has selected 20 players for closed training for the tri-series against Namibia and Scotland under ICC Cricket World Cup League-2.

Captain Gyanendra Malla, Paras Khadka, Sharad Bheshavkar, Dipendra Singh Airy, Sompal Kami, Binod Bhandari, Karan KC, Sandeep Lamichhane, Prithu Baskota, Asif Sheikh, Kushal Bhurtel, Kushal Malla, Arif Sheikh, Avinash Bohra, Kamal Singh Airy, Vikram Sob, Sushan Bhari, Sandeep Jora, Pawan Sarraf and Sahib Alam have been selected.

The closed training is likely to take place from Sunday, a CAN official said. Nepal’s head coach Dave Whatmore has already arrived in Nepal from Sri Lanka. As it is raining in Nepal now, preparations have not been made to take the Nepali team for training abroad.

The Netherlands has not made a decision, despite a proposal from CAN to the Netherlands Cricket Board for a practice match.

The ICC has not yet announced a date for the series.