18 players selected in first round for Asian Women’s Volleyball Championship

representative photo

Kathmandu: Eighteen players have been selected in the first round of the Asian Volleyball Championship to be held in the Philippines next August.

The selection committee has selected 18 players out of the 27 called for the initial training, said Nepal Volleyball Association. A seven-member selection committee headed by Nepal Volleyball Association Secretary Manbir Chhantyal selected 18 players on Saturday.

Kamala Pun and Hira KC, who had already played for the national team in the first round, have been dropped. Similarly, Kripa Adhikari and Manisha Chaudhary have got continuity in the 18-member team.

Saraswati Jaishi, Laxmi Chand, Riya Kunwar, Kavita Bhatt and Shanti Tharu have been included in the 18-member team for the first time.

Eleven players, including captain Aruna Shahi, who played the 13th green in Nepal for the last time in 2076, have got continuity.